Center For Honor Enrichment and Community Standards

Student Honor Council

The Student Honor Council (SHC) was established during the 2011-2012 academic year. The SHC plays a critical role in the university judicial system. The president of the university has entrusted these students with the administration of the most serious situations involving alleged violations of community standards.

The Student Honor Council is an officially recognized student organization with individuals selected to serve the university community by promoting a community of honor, integrity and personal responsibility. The SHC upholds CNU’s Honor Code and the Student Code of Conduct by making decisions in the university’s conduct process through a partnership with the Center for Honor Enrichment and Community Standards. Specifically, SHC members serve as panel members, support students who are going through the process, represent the university community and participate in educational outreach and programming efforts.

Members of the SHC are full-time students that are nominated by their peers, faculty and staff, and are representative of the campus community. Members are then selected by the president of the SHC. Members will complete one year of policy, procedures and sanctioning training. After completing training, all members attend regular in-service training sessions.

The SHC serves the Christopher Newport community by focusing on three areas in addition to serving on panels:

  • Recruitment focuses on identifying and selecting new Honor Council members who are a diverse representative of the CNU community.
  • Programming and outreach reaches out to the campus community to promote honor and integrity. SHC members also work with student groups and organizations, academic departments and administrative offices to share more about their role on campus and be resources to the community.
  • Training is involved in planning and implementing training for SHC members and for external groups. Members in this area facilitate Welcome Week and Setting Sail sessions as well as help with student leader training.

2019-20 Executive Board

  • Tyler Smith, president
  • Thomas Pollack, vice president
  • Gabe Rakowski, treasurer
  • Madison Koller, parlimentarian
  • Vanessa Lin, membership/training chair
  • Nick Varcadapine, outreach/programming chair

Interested in becoming an honor council member?

If you are interested in serving on SHC, please complete the application and email the completed application to Student Honor Council applications are accepted on a rolling basis. Submitted applications will be considered during the fall and spring recruitment seasons.

If you have any questions, please contact us by phone at (757) 594-7190 or by email at

quick edit report a problem